Saturday, October 16, 2021

AFT Local 1904 Joins Together With Other Unions In Support of Governor Murphy's Bid for Re-Election

Today, at the Bergen County CLC Labor Walk, IBEW 164, 205 Robin Road in Paramus, Members of AFT Local 1904 joined together with other Union siblings including those from Kean, Rutgers, HPAE, AFTNJ, and AFL-CIO NJ, in support of Governor Murphy's re-election bid. 

AFT President Randi Weingarten and AFL-CIO President Liz Shuler were in attendance.

AFT at Homecoming 2021: Back on Campus!

The AFT Local 1904 celebrated the first on-campus Montclair State Homecoming event since the onslaught of COVID. Back at our usual table in front of Dickson Hall, our indispensable Office Manager Deb Corasio and our amazing interns tended the table, distributing AFT pens, pencils, key chains, water, and the ever popular "pronoun" buttons, while welcoming alums and informing current students and their families about the Local's scholarship opportunities.

Local 1904 Treasurer Mike Heller and Office Manager Deb Corasio, in AFT Superhero blue

Students, Alums, Interns, and families at the AFT Local 1904 table

Local VP for Internal Affairs Brian Abrams talking with current student about scholarship opportunities

Sunday, August 15, 2021

AFT Local 1904 Represent at the 25th Annual Labor Candidates School


On the weekend of August 14th and 15th, 2021, some 30 union siblings attended the New Jersey State AFL-CIO’s 25th Annual Labor Candidates School. The Labor Candidates School participants, approved by their local unions and Central Labor Councils, have filed to run in this year’s election for local and state offices, or are seriously considering a run in the future. 

AFT Local 1904's own Mike Heller and Jennifer Higgins (both in photo below), participated in this year's School. Heller is running again for the Bloomfield Board of Education and attended the school as a refresher course. Higgins is considering running for office sometime in the future. 

Left: Mike Heller, AFT Local 1904 Treasurer and CNJSCL Treasurer
Right: Jennifer Higgins, AFT Local 1904 Member and AFT NJ Treasurer

Marti Kennedy, who went on to win an election in Little Falls in 2011, and Edina Renfro Michele, current Council Member of Ward 2 in Boonton, are among the AFT Local 1904 members and past graduates of the NJ Labor Candidate School. The NJ Labor Candidate School is widely heralded as the best in the country, and graduates are typically but not universally afforded a coveted AFL-CIO endorsement.

The two-day school was dedicated to the memory of AFL-CIO President Richard L. Trumka, a stalwart supporter of the New Jersey Labor Candidates Program. The union values President Trumka dedicated his life to were the foundations of every session: Solidarity. Loyalty. Justice. Dignity. Respect. Prosperity. Fairness. Democracy. Courage. Shared Humanity.

Tuesday, August 3, 2021

Housing Costs: Resources for Assistance

If you’re looking for help with housing costs, you’re not alone

Renters: State and local organizations are distributing federal rental assistance in their communities. The money can help landlords and renters who are struggling to keep up with rent and other bills. Many programs take applications from both landlords and renters. Information on this program can be found here.

Homeowners: If you've had trouble making mortgage payments because of a COVID-19 related hardship, we have information to help. Whether you're entering forbearance, need more time, or are ready to exit, we have information on what to do next. can be found here.