Becker-Keenen-Moore-Brook-Uhia-Waller Scholarships 2023

AFT Local 1904 is pleased to announce that applications for the 2023 Becker-Keenen-Moore-Brook-
Uhia-Waller Scholarship are available. All full-time undergraduate students in any major, who will be enrolled this coming fall, are eligible for one of the program's $500 awards. If you know students in good academic standing (2.75 GPA or higher) who might benefit from this award, please encourage them to apply.

The firm deadline to apply for this scholarship is [TBD]. No applications will be considered after this time on this date. Please keep in mind that two letters of recommendation are required as part of the application, and must also be received by this deadline. Please note that only current Members of the AFT Local 1904 can serve as recommenders. If you are not currently a Member and wish to join, please complete and return a card to Deborah Corasio, Office Manager of the AFT Local 1904 (email: You can read about the benefits of Union membership here.

This scholarship fund was originally established in 1997, honoring Catherine A. Becker, James P. Keenen III, Joseph T. Moore, Kenneth H. Brook, Anita E. Uhia, and Connie Waller, all former faculty and active union members who were deeply committed to the principles of collective bargaining and to supporting students with significant economic need.

Please review the Application Form and, if you have any questions, contact Deborah Corasio, Office Manager of the AFT Local 1904 (email:; phone: 973-655-4453).

Deadline: [Applications Closed for 2022]

Access The 2023 Application Here [Coming Soon]



Essex County Labor Scholarship Award (for High School Seniors)

      The Essex-West Hudson Central Labor Council, AFL-CIO, is once again offering ten $1000 Scholarships for high school seniors, to be awarded for one academic year of college expenses.
        To be eligible for this scholarship, the applicant must be:
        • A high school senior
        • Accepted at an accredited college or accredited post-high school education program
        • Sponsored by a guardian who is a member of a local union affiliated with the Essex-West Hudson Central Labor Council, AFL-CIO
          Each applicant must submit:
          • A 250-word, written statement explaining why they qualify for the award, including their commitment to the Labor Movement
          • An official transcript from the applicant’s high school
          • A statement describing any community service/extracurricular activities
          • A copy of an official acceptance letter from their post-high-school educational institution of choice

          Deadline: [Applications Closed for 2022]

                Download 2023 Application Here [Coming Soon]



                FAST Fund

                AFT Local 1904 has been selected to be a partner with Believe in Students, Inc., in a Faculty and Students Together (FAST) Fund at Montclair State. The FAST Fund, initiated by Sara Goldrick-Rab, provides emergency aid for students without the bureaucracy or hassle typically associated with short term student relief. AFT Local 1904 is proud to be among this small group of partner schools which include: California State University – Long Beach, California; Nash Community College, Rocky Mount, North Carolina; Columbus State Community College, Columbus, Ohio; Bunker Hill Community College, Boston, Massachusetts; and Milwaukee Area Technical College, Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

                As a partner with Believe in Students, AFT Local 1904 administers a FAST Fund at Montclair State University to assist students with paying for expenses that they would not otherwise be able to afford. Examples of what FAST Funds may fund include, but are not limited to:

                • Professional licensing fees
                • Temporary housing
                • Rent to avoid eviction
                • Auto repair bills
                • Replacement costs for textbooks and laptops/iPad or other required technology for the educational program
                • Eyeglasses and eye exams

                To qualify for the funds, Montclair State students must complete an application form. Applications include the requirements of member reference and an explanation of need.

                Questions? Contact our AFT Local 1904 office (Dickson Hall 104) via email or via telephone at 973-655-4453.

                The FAST Fund depends upon the generous contributions from supporters. To support the FAST Fund (or to encourage someone you know to support the FAST Fund), PLEASE DONATE HERE.