Tuesday, June 28, 2016

2016 BKMUW Scholarship Recipients

On May 4, 2016, at the 1904 Membership Meeting, the Local welcomed this year's recipients of the BKMUW scholarships, each a student who has shown determination in their studies and has worked to support their own education. 

The recipients for the BKMUW Scholarship are full-time undergraduate students working to pay for their enrollment and possessing proven academic achievement. The 2016 honorees include (pictured here, from left to right): Kristopher Kirkland, Alyssa Miller, Danielle Vaccaro, and Cheryl Bodice. Also pictured here (second from right) is President Rich Wolfson. Honorees not pictured here include Stephen Blazejewski, Lynese Rawlins, and Jeffrey Sanchez.

The Nick Yovnello-CNJSCL Award, funded by the Council of New Jersey State College Locals, was awarded to Jeffrey Sanchez.

The Ellen Kerns Nunn Award, offered to a student who meets all previous criteria and who is a single parent during their enrollment, went to Cheryl Yodice.

Each student will receive a $500 credit toward their student account. AFT Local 1904 again congratulates this year's winners for their hard work and wishes them continued success in their chosen fields. Also, a big thank you to all who have donated toward the scholarships as your efforts continue to support hard-working and deserving scholars at MSU.