Sunday, May 15, 2022

Congratulations to the 2022 BKMBUW Scholarship Recipients!

The AFT Local 1904 is very pleased to have awarded five scholarships in 2022! Recipients were acknowledged virtually (via Zoom) at our Membership Meeting on Wednesday, May 4th, 2022.

Pictured above, from left to right, are BKMBUW Scholarship recipients Brittany Bascone, Mia Crider, Moonaya Fahmy, Rashel Gonzalez, and Isabella Wnek. Recipients are all undergraduate students in various majors, in good academic standing, with strong scholastic aspirations, and who have demonstrated that they would substantively benefit from the support of the scholarship as a resource.

Our heartfelt thanks to members of the 2022 Scholarship Committee: Carmen Reyes-Cuevas, Lisa Williams, Catherine Baird, and Karen Mingo-Campbell. Also, sincere thanks to All those who provided recipients letters of recommendation for our students, to the Local Office Manager, Deb Corasio, for helping to manage the scholarship applications, and to the Officers of the Local 1904 for supporting the Scholarship Committee's award recommendations. 

The BKMBUW Scholarship Fund was originally established in 1997 (followed shortly by establishment of Yovnello and Nunn awards—the Nunn award reserved specifically for students who are single parents). The Scholarship currently honors Catherine A. Becker, James P. Keenen III, Joseph T. Moore, Kenneth H. Brook, Anita E. Uhia, and Connie Waller, all former faculty and active union members who were deeply committed to the principles of collective bargaining and to helping our students who demonstrate a significant economic need. 

Please consider contributing to the fund, including in another's name (loved one, etc.). To give to the Fund, please do so via this link (select designation of “other,” and indicate that the donation is for “BKMBUW” ).

Congratulations to all five 2022 recipients!