Sunday, May 7, 2023

Congratulations to the 2023 AFT Local 1904 Scholarship Recipients!

The AFT Local 1904 is very pleased to have awarded nine scholarships in 2023! Recipients were acknowledged virtually (via Zoom) at our Membership Meeting on Wednesday, May 3rd, 2023.

Pictured above are our Scholarship recipients (top then bottom rows, left to right) Ana Rita MateoOmayma JabaraSophia UpeguiJoseph GiblinLaila Garrett, Noelle Whitaker, Joey Staltari, Joely DeMonte, and Caroline Cook. Recipients are all undergraduate students in various majors, in good academic standing, with strong scholastic aspirations, and who have demonstrated that they would substantively benefit from the support of the scholarship as a resource. 

Our heartfelt thanks to members of the 2023 Scholarship Committee: Catherine Baird, Lisa GarrityKaren Mingo-Campbell, and Carmen Reyes-Cuevas. Also, sincere thanks to: All those who provided recipients letters of recommendation for our students; Local Office Manager, Deb Corasio, for helping to manage the scholarship applications; and the Officers of the Local 1904for supporting the Scholarship Committee's award recommendations. 

The BKMBUW/Yovnello/Nunn Scholarship Fund was originally established in 1997. The Scholarship currently honors Catherine A. Becker, James P. Keenen III, Joseph T. Moore, Kenneth H. Brook, Anita E. Uhia,and Connie Waller, all former faculty and active union members, as well as Nicholas C. Yovnello and Ellen Kearns Nunn, all of whom were deeply committed to the principles of collective bargaining and to helping our students who demonstrate a significant economic need. The Nunn award is  reserved specifically for students who are single parents.

Please consider contributing to the fund, including in another's name (loved one, etc.). To give to the Fund, please do so via this link (select designation of “other,” and indicate that the donation is for “AFT Local 1904 BKMBUW/Yovnello/Nunn Scholarship Fund”).

Congratulations to all nine 2023 recipients!