Thursday, May 2, 2024

Congratulations to the 2024 AFT Local 1904 Scholarship Recipients!

The AFT Local 1904 is very pleased to have awarded eleven scholarships in 2023! Recipients were acknowledged both in person (CELS Building, 120) and virtually (via Zoom) at our Membership Meeting on Wednesday, May 1st, 2024.

Pictured above (top seven then bottom four, left to right) are our Scholarship recipients Jeffrey Yumbla, Melanie Betances, Bayron Herrera, Jordan Egerton, Carolyn Cook, Jacob Roby, Omayma Jabara, Joely DeMonte, Assata DeLoach, Yaritza Lopez, and Daisha Robinson. Recipients are all undergraduate students in various majors, in good academic standing, with strong scholastic aspirations, and who have demonstrated that they would substantively benefit from the support of the scholarship as a resource. 

Our heartfelt thanks to members of the 2024 Scholarship Committee: Catherine Baird, Lisa GarrityKaren Mingo, Carmen Reyes-Cuevas, and Celeste Walden-Kelley. Also, sincere thanks to: All those who provided recipients letters of recommendation for our students; Local Office Manager, Deb Corasio, for helping to manage the scholarship applications; and the Officers of the Local 1904for supporting the Scholarship Committee's award recommendations. 

The BKMBUW/Yovnello/Nunn/BCMSU Scholarship Fund was originally established in 1997. The Scholarship currently honors Catherine A. Becker, James P. Keenen III, Joseph T. Moore, Kenneth H. Brook, Anita E. Uhiaand Connie Waller, all former faculty and active union members, as well as Nicholas C. Yovnello and Ellen Kearns Nunn, all of whom were deeply committed to the principles of collective bargaining and to helping our students who demonstrate a significant economic need. The Nunn award is reserved specifically for students who are single parents. The Bloomfield College of Montclair State University (BCMSU), based upon a generous 2023 gift from the BCMSU labor community to the AFT Local 1904's scholarship fund, is reserved specifically for a BCMSU student who meets certain specific criteria.

Please consider contributing to the fund, including in another's name (loved one, etc.). To give to the Fund, please do so via this link (select designation of “other,” and indicate that the donation is for “AFT Local 1904 BKMBUW/Yovnello/Nunn/BCMSU Scholarship Fund”).

Congratulations to all eleven 2024 recipients!